× Home About Us Contact Executive Committee
Trauma Cardiac 12-Lead Program Blood Program Coalition ED Operations Education EMS EMTF 8 Hospitals Injury Prevention Pediatric Perinatal Resuscitation Stroke
Bids & RFPs Calendar Careers Conference STCC Systems / Apps
(Field Apps)

The Regional Infection Control Officer (RICO) Program is a co-operative approach to addressing the essential infection control and prevention needs of EMS agencies in the Southwest Texas Regional Advisory Council (STRAC) region.

The RICO Program provides a mechanism to normalize, centralize and simplify processes for EMS agencies to meet the requirements of SB1574 and provide consistent, quality infection prevention, rapid assistance from qualified Infection Preventionist providers if an exposure occurs while also ensuring regulatory compliance.

STRAC has partnered with San Antonio Fire Department and the Office of the Medical Director, Emergency Health Sciences Department of the UT Health San Antonio to create the RICO program. Dr. David Miramontes, SAFD/EMS Medical Director oversees the RICO program, and RICO manages the day-to-day operations.

24/7 RICO HOTLINE: (210) 355-0804